Skip to content

Where does the Best FIFA football awards take place ? FIFA Football Awards Past Winners List

  • by
2021 Best FIFA Football Awards
Date : 17 January, 2022
Venue : Switzerland
Watch Online Anywhere : Get ExpressVPN   [#1 VPN For Event live streaming]

The 2021 The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony will take place in the Swiss city of Zurich on 17 January, 2022. It will be a virtual ceremony due to the ongoing health measures attached to the Covid-19 crisis. Watch here 2021 FIFA Football Award Ceremony live Anywhere ..

What is The Best FIFA Men’s Player award?

The Best FIFA Men’s Player is the award handed out to the best player every calendar year. As mentioned earlier, it’s decided by a combination of: national coaches of FIFA Member Associations, their team captains, a select group of media from those countries, and fans.

The current favourites for the 2021 award are: Robert Lewandowski, Kylian Mbappe, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

Previous Winners

Year       Player    Country

2007      Kaka      Brazil

2008      Cristiano Ronaldo            Portugal

2009      Lionel Messi       Argentina

2010      Lionel Messi       Argentina

2011      Lionel Messi       Argentina

2012      Lionel Messi       Argentina

2013      Cristiano Ronaldo            Portugal

2014      Cristiano Ronaldo            Portugal

2015      Lionel Messi       Argentina

2016      Cristiano Ronaldo            Portugal

2017      Cristiano Ronaldo            Portugal

2018      Luka Modric       Croatia

2019      Lionel Messi       Argentina

2020      Robert Lewandowski       Poland

What is The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award?

Similar to The Best FIFA Men’s Player, but solely for goalkeepers, The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award celebrates the best player in between the sticks each calendar year, to give more recognition to a position that seldom wins individual awards. The first award was handed out in 2017.

Previous Winners

Year       Player    Country

2017      Gianluigi Buffon Italy

2018      Thibaut Courtois              Belgium

2019      Alisson Becker   Brazil

2020      Manuel Neuer    Germany

What is The Best FIFA Men’s Coach award?

This award celebrates the work of the best coaches in world football, and it ultimately decides which manager is considered to have been the best over the past 12 months.

Previous Winners

Year       Coach    Country

2016      Claudio Ranieri  Italy

2017      Zinedine Zidane France

2018      Didier Deschamps            France

2019      Jurgen Klopp      Germany

2020      Jurgen Klopp      Germany

What is The Best FIFA Women’s Player award?

Just as with The FIFA Best Men’s Player, there is an award for the best female player each calendar year as well. It started in 2001, 10 years after the men’s award was introduced, and brings more recognition and attention to women’s football.

Previous Winners

Year       Player    Country

2016      Carli Lloyd           United States

2017      Lieke Martens    Netherlands

2018      Marta    Brazil

2019      Megan Rapinoe United States

2020      Lucy Bronze        England

There are also female awards for The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper, The Best FIFA Women’s Coach and a FIFA FIFPro Women’s World XI.

What is the FIFA FIFPro Men’s World 11?

Since 2005, the world players’ union FIFPRO has asked professional footballers worldwide to select the best players in the game each calendar year, with over 25,000 players participating in the vote.

The goalkeeper, as well as the three defenders, three midfielders and three forwards who received the most votes are selected for the World 11. The remaining spot in the World 11 is assigned to the outfield player with the next highest number of votes who is not selected already.

The award celebrates the best 11 players in the world each year, and gives players who don’t have a realistic shot at winning the overall award, primarily defensive players, recognition for their work on the pitch.

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have the most appearances in the World 11, with 14 each. Sergio Ramos is next in terms of appearances, with 11.

On December 14, FIFA confirmed the 23-man shortlist for the 2021 Men’s FIFA FIFPRO World 11 with the following players up for the award:

Previous FIFPro Best XIs

2016: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich); Dani Alves (Barcelona/Juventus), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Marcelo (Real Madrid); Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid); Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Luis Suarez (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

2017: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus); Dani Alves (Juventus/Paris-Saint Germain), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus/AC Milan), Marcelo (Real Madrid); Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona); Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Neymar (PSG)

2018: David de Gea (Manchester United); Dani Alves (PSG), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid), Marcelo (Real Madrid); Luka Modric (Real Madrid), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea), Eden Hazard (Chelsea); Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Juventus), Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

2019: Alisson (Liverpool); Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Marcelo (real Madrid); Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona), Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid); Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Kylian Mbappe (PSG)

2020: Alisson (Liverpool); Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich); Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Thiago (Bayern Munich/Liverpool), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City); Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)

What is the FIFA Puskas Award?

Created in 2009 in honour of the late Ferenc Puskas, captain and star of the Hungary national team during the 1950s, the FIFA Puskas Award is handed out to the player judged to have scored the best goal of the year.

The criteria are: an aesthetically beautiful goal, awarded without distinction of championship, gender or nationality.

What is the FIFA Fair Play Award?

The FIFA Fair Play award recognises exemplary behaviour that promotes fair play, sportsmanship and compassion in football. It can be awarded to a player, a coach, a team, fans or even entire footballing communities. The winner in 2020 was Mattia Agnese, who administered critical first aid to an opponent who lost consciousness following an on-field collision.

What is the FIFA Fan Award?

The FIFA Fan award was created in 2016 and celebrates the best fan moment or event across the calendar year. 2020’s winner was Marivaldo Francisco da Silva.

Year       Player    Country

2016      Mohd Faiz bin Subri         Malaysia

2017      Olivier Giroud     France

2018      Mohamed Salah               Egypt

2019      Daniel Zsori        Hungary

2020      Heung-Min Son Korea Republic

Who will present the The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony?

It is currently unknown who will present the ceremony. Reshmin Chowdhury and Ruud Gullit were the hosts in 2020.

Are The Best FIFA Football Awards and the Ballon d’Or the same?

No, they are not. The Ballon d’Or is a ceremony founded and run by France Football, whereas The Best FIFA Football Awards were founded and run by FIFA. They are two separate awards, although between 2010 and 2015, they merged together to form the FIFA Ballon d’Or.

They separated for 2016 and have remained two different awards since then. Before the merge, The Best FIFA Football Awards was known as FIFA World Player of the Year. You can find out more about the Ballon d’Or here.