Skip to content

How Many Countries & Territories will Participate at the Commonwealth Games 2022

  • by

Birmingham 2022 CWG is supposed to highlight 72 groups, including the 54 Commonwealth of countries and 18 territories. Begun in 1930 as the British Empire Games, the present-day Commonwealth Games is a multi-sport contest, planned like the Olympics, where just the Commonwealth of Nations and their domains are qualified to partake.

The Commonwealth of Nations or just the Commonwealth, the way things are currently, is an intentional gathering of 54 sovereign countries, the majority of which were previous provinces of the past British Empire or its dependants. The individuals, however, have changed throughout the years because of worldwide political ramifications and willful withdrawals for increments to the gathering. For instance, unified India, under British rule, took part at the 1934 and 1938 Games as one group.

After India’s parcel in 1947,

India and Pakistan both took part at the 1954 CWG. Likewise, Bangladesh began contending at the Commonwealth Games from 1978 after its freedom from Pakistan in 1971. Hamilton 1930, the debut Commonwealth Games version, saw 11 nations and regions – has Canada, Australia, Bermuda, British Guiana, Canada, England, Ireland, Newfoundland, New Zealand, Scotland, South Africa and Wales – partake.

The quantity of taking part nations and regions have consistently gone up since. Six countries, Australia, Canada, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales, have been essential for all the 21 Commonwealth Games releases up to this point.

A sum of 71 unique groups partook in the last Commonwealth Games at Gold Coast, Australia in 2018. Other than the actual countries, various ward domains of these nations contend under their own banner, raising the all out number of groups.

Anguilla, for example, is an inside self-overseeing an abroad area of the United Kingdom yet contends at the Commonwealth Games as a different group. A sum of 72 nations and regions are supposed to highlight at the impending 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham. The sole expansion will be the Maldives, who left the Commonwealth in 2016 and subsequently, missed Gold Coast 2018. The Asian nation, notwithstanding, rejoined the Commonwealth of Nations in 2020 and is supposed to contend at Birmingham.

The Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham, UK begins on July 28 and closures on August 8

  1. Anguilla
  2. Antigua and Barbuda
  3. Australia
  4. Bahamas
  5. Bangladesh
  6. Barbados
  7. Belize
  8. Bermuda
  9. Botswana
  10. English Virgin Islands
  11. Brunei
  12. Cameroon
  13. Canada
  14. Cayman Islands
  15. Cook Islands
  16. Cyprus
  17. Dominica
  18. Britain
  19. Eswatini
  20. Falkland Islands
  21. Fiji
  22. Ghana
  23. Gibraltar
  24. Grenada
  25. Guernsey
  26. Guyana
  27. India
  28. Isle of Man
  29. Jamaica
  30. Jersey
  31. Kenya
  32. Kiribati
  33. Lesotho
  34. Malawi
  35. Malaysia
  36. Maldives
  37. Malta
  38. Mauritius
  39. Montserrat
  40. Mozambique
  41. Namibia
  42. Nauru
  43. New Zealand
  44. Nigeria
  45. Niue
  46. Norfolk Island
  47. Northern Ireland
  48. Pakistan
  49. Papua New Guinea
  50. Rwanda
  51. Samoa
  52. Scotland
  53. Seychelles
  54. Sierra Leone
  55. Singapore
  56. Solomon Islands
  57. South Africa
  58. Sri Lanka
  59. St Helena
  60. St Kitts and Nevis
  61. St Lucia
  62. St Vincent and the Grenadines
  63. Tanzania
  64. The Gambia
  65. Tonga
  66. Trinidad and Tobago
  67. Turks and Caicos Islands
  68. Tuvalu
  69. Uganda
  70. Vanuatu
  71. Ridges
  72. Zambia